Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title suggests, can I fit 215/45 R17 tyres on stock wheels but the car is lowered 30mm(1.2 inch) and with spacers about 2cm.

The car is a 2017 Abarth 124 Spider, euro specs

I have used the tyre calculator webpage and there is about 8mm (0.3 inch) height difference from stock wheels with 205/45 R17 tyres.Just want to know for sure if the suggested size would not rub on the fenders.

Thanks everyone for the help ahead!
馃憢

Registered
Im not an expert on this subject but others here are. Ive done a fair bit of reading different posts on this topic before deciding to go forward with lowering springs and wider tires and from what I understand you should be fine with that setup without incurring any fender rub.
Did you use eibach pro lowering springs ( eurospec) with 20mm spacers?

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Im not an expert on this subject but others here are. Ive done a fair bit of reading different posts on this topic before deciding to go forward with lowering springs and wider tires and from what I understand you should be fine with that setup without incurring any fender rub.
Did you use eibach pro lowering springs ( eurospec) with 20mm spacers?
Thank you for your input on the question. Hopefully a few more can confirm this. In our country it is hard to be able to put wider tyres on the stock wheels because of homologation reasons ( yeey -_- ) so 215/45 R17 is the max allowed.

Registered
2017 Abarth spider
I have this same set up.
Michelin 215/45R17 on the stock 7J wheels. Lowered 30mm with H&R Springs. Spacers 2x 18mm in front and 2x 20mm in back (the 2mm makes a real difference in flush look).

I have no rubbing of the wheels except when i am backing up on the driveway with wheel fully turned to the right and driving the rear wheels up the curb (more pressure on the front wheel) only then have i ever heard it rubbing a bit.