Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm not a mechanic or an automotive engineer, so please pardon me for asking some questions to help me learn about these products. And thank you for your knowledge and experience.

A cursory check of the interwebs shows modern gasoline fueled engines use 14.7 parts of air to 1 part fuel for combustion. This ratio may be different for any number of reasons, but let's just use this.

#1- Aftermarket air intake systems promise more air actually getting to the turbo unit. Does this also mean an increased volume of air going *through* the turbo in the same amount of time, or just a greater volume available at the intake end of the turbo for the turbo to draw upon? (Comparing the sizes of OEM and aftermarket intake piping, there is no doubt that more air volume is provided up to the turbo.)

#2- If more air per unit of time is actually going through the turbo with the aftermarket air intake systems, would this also mean more fuel needs to be introduced into the air stream as it enters the combustion chamber? (Edit, with claims of better acceleration and increases of power, I'd think more fuel is being delivered to maintain the proper air:fuel ratio.)

#3- Are current users of aftermarket air intake systems noticing changes in your fuel economy numbers (figured manually, using actual miles driven divided by actual gallons used, not via dashboard mpg meters)? If so, what are before/after upgrade mpg figures?

#4- Unless I've missed something in message conversations or mfr. product details, when using aftermarket air intake systems, is re-mapping of the engine's computer required, or at least suggested? (Edit, or is the factory mapping able to compensate for the greater air delivered with added fuel to maintain the proper air:fuel ratio?)

Thanks for your help...
Steve.

·
Super Moderator
1,281 Posts