Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys, I'm looking for a car jack and I'm new to this. I know I need a low profile one but don't know how much clearance is need the the 124 Spider (Abarth).

This one seems adequate (4" clearance). Would it be OK?
http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/motomaster-aluminum-steel-garage-jack-3-ton-0091036p.0091036.html

FEATURES

MotoMaster Aluminum & Steel Garage Jack uses a dual pump hydraulic lifting system to lift the vehicle with fewer strokes
Lightweight aluminum frame and side handles for quick and easy handling
Padded saddle to prevent vehicle scratching
Steel lift arm for strength and durability
Garage jack has a 4 to 18-1/4" lift range, allowing you to still be able to position it under most low profile vehicles
Universal joint allows you to release or secure the lift arm with the twist of the handle
Suitable for low-profile, compact, and mid-size vehicles; SUVS and minivans; and light trucks

Registered
harbor freight sells an aluminum 1.5 ton jack which works with all my cars, my Porsche 987s is lower than my 124. the prices are quite reasonable to boot. if you are looking for a scissors jack, my advice would be simply search for one compatable with a mazda miata

Registered
4" clearance is plenty for the sides and rear. This is also OK to get under the front, but the back part of the jack may have trouble clearing the front lip, so you can't reach the front crossmember - non-lowered cars may be OK, however. Use a 2-3 inch ramp on the front wheels to allow the jack to clear the front lip to lift on the front crossmember.

Registered