Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

After just 2,600 miles, the clutch failed on my Abarth Spider. The closest dealership (not where I bought it) that took the tow inspected and blamed the user (i.e., me). I've been driving manual cars for 32 years - many makes and models - and was offended to be blamed. I drive the car to work, don't race it, and haven't let (or taught!) anyone else how to drive it. After I vigorously pushed back, they said they'd fix it as a "courtesy." I haven't seen any other clutch issues on this forum but I did see there was a recall of the 2012-2017 Fiat 500 for its clutch which affected less than 1% of its cars. Interestingly, the dealer said that the clutch assembly was on back order so it would take some time to replace. Is there a big demand on 2017 Spider clutches?

Anyone else have this problem?

Thx!

·
Registered
2,358 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
It seems parts availability is a problem. I had mine in for routine maintenance, and they did not have the parts to complete that. Took them a month to order the parts.

·
Registered
232 Posts
What??? What parts were ordered for

It seems parts availability is a problem. I had mine in for routine maintenance, and they did not have the parts to complete that. Took them a month to order the parts.
Routine maintenance??? I would like,to know so I can start stockpiling them

Tia:eek::eek::eek:

·
Registered
479 Posts
what kind of clutch failure? hydraulic failure or a disk / pressure plate failure? I have never heard of a disk failure I such low miles except for improper installation or contamination. was the transmission overfilled causing a front seal failure, thus contaminating the disk?

·
Registered
113 Posts
Welcome, Ben. Nice to see another yinzer on the forum.