Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, Total Noob question here but what is the difference between a Blow off valve and a Diverter valves that I see on various sites.

example Go Fast Bits Diverter valve vs. Forge Blow off Valve or are they simply different ames for the same thing?

TIA,

J

·
Registered
956 Posts
They perform the same function, but they are different.

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
There is something to be said for brevity, but, could you please expand upon their differences? Thanks.

Steve.

Reactions: Dirty GSer

·
Administrator
2,037 Posts
Someone can correct me if I'm wrong here, but here's my understanding.

Blow off valves expel pressure built in the intake to the atmosphere. Diverter valves (also referred to as recirculating blow off valves), release that pressure back into the intake upstream of the turbo.

Switching from a diverter valve to the blow off valve effectively creates a boost leak, as air that was metered by the mass air flow sensor by the ECU is expected for fueling purposes. When less air is used than was measured, the O2 sensor reports the engine running too rich and may throw a check engine light for a rich condition. I'm not familiar with whether or not this can be accounted for in a tune.

·
Registered
956 Posts

Blow off valves expel pressure built in the intake to the atmosphere. Diverter valves (also referred to as recirculating blow off valves), release that pressure back into the intake upstream of the turbo.

Switching from a diverter valve to the blow off valve effectively creates a boost leak, as air that was metered by the mass air flow sensor by the ECU is expected for fueling purposes. When less air is used than was measured, the O2 sensor reports the engine running too rich and may throw a check engine light for a rich condition. I'm not familiar with whether or not this can be accounted for in a tune.