Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
425 Posts
I have zero experience but I am interested in taking it on the track. No roll bar required?

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have zero experience but I am interested in taking it on the track. No roll bar required?
It depends on the group. I run with NCRC regularly and they do a "broomstick test". Basically place a bar over the windshield to the roll bar / hoops. If your head clears by an inch or more with the helmet on, you're okay.

Seriously, I'd recommend a roll bar though. I am hesitant to try for the limits of the car without it. It's on my immediate list of items to do.

·
Banned
425 Posts
It depends on the group. I run with NCRC regularly and they do a "broomstick test". Basically place a bar over the windshield to the roll bar / hoops. If your head clears by an inch or more with the helmet on, you're okay.

Seriously, I'd recommend a roll bar though. I am hesitant to try for the limits of the car without it. It's on my immediate list of items to do.
Thanks! Good information and appreciate the video. Very enjoyable.

·
124 Spider Vendor
899 Posts
To anybody reading the thread, if you flip at track speed with stock hoops....YOU LIKELY DIE.

Whether a track group allows is not a good reason to do it.

Stock hoops are intended to give you 'some' low speed event protection. That means it should help when you get T-boned at intersection speeds and have a 15mph low speed roll after you get pushed into the curb, etc. Stock hoops will NOT prevent you getting crushed in the 'mouse trap' this setup makes with a flip at track speeds.

The thick plastic over stock hoop hides just 1 inch ALUMINUM tube as you can see below. Check the charts for bar thickness standards by car weight for track speed forces and this is not within miles of enough to save you. Thus, STRONGLY suggest real roll product for anybody planning track days that is made to SCCA and NASA specs like this one...

·