Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no experience in modifying engines to increase horsepower.

My current drive is a 2016 Fiat 124 Spider with manual transmission.

From a standing start, the unmodified car has sufficient power for me to induce wheelspin. What would be the advantages of me seeking additional horsepower on this road car? From my inexperienced, uneducated, starting point, it seems to me that increasing engine power would serve no practical purpose but, may exacerbate to the existing loss of traction.

Thanks in anticipation,
Martin

·
Registered
3,053 Posts
I got the Euro drive Lite, pain in the rear to install it, but never the less, the kick and satisfaction it's giving me, well it's Priceless. It's not speeding to the 200 kph faster, I get the fun on the acceleration without spinning the tires, passing another cars within the speed limit.

But they have other ECU which connects to the OBDII, much simpler.
Across the pond the Abarth has 170HP, while Fiat Classica and Lusso have 140 Donkey power. <BG>

originally I ordered the LUSSO, but after test driving the Abarth, well ended buying the Abarth.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Op: The 124 has more traction than power. User satisfaction is subjective when it comes to performance envelope of any car. And any number of variables can be changed through altering aspects of any car. I think you are asking about power delivery: does the throttle respond fast enough for me, does power output overwhelm traction at a given point if I run full throttle? For some, the perception of untapped potential encourages modifications to expand the envelope.