Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
the performance overall seems to be the same, but where this thing is great is when you are tooling around moving slow in stop and go traffic. it seems like you are on boost at considerably lower rpm's.

I have stalled my car a few times before the replacement in traffic. it seemed like the engine was not generating any power below 1500 rpm, causing a stall. if not stalling it was a bit jerky in transition from idle to low rpm crawling. the installation of the d/v seems to have cured this condition, also when shifting the transition is also much smoother.

I know learning a new clutch is sometimes getting to know the feel of a new car, but having driven manuals for 33 years now I have a decent level of mastery of a manual cog swapper.

this d/v based on ease of installation and noted improvement in operation is a must have.....

·
Registered
668 Posts
the performance overall seems to be the same, but where this thing is great is when you are tooling around moving slow in stop and go traffic. it seems like you are on boost at considerably lower rpm's.

I have stalled my car a few times before the replacement in traffic. it seemed like the engine was not generating any power below 1500 rpm, causing a stall. if not stalling it was a bit jerky in transition from idle to low rpm crawling. the installation of the d/v seems to have cured this condition, also when shifting the transition is also much smoother.

I know learning a new clutch is sometimes getting to know the feel of a new car, but having driven manuals for 33 years now I have a decent level of mastery of a manual cog swapper.

this d/v based on ease of installation and noted improvement in operation is a must have.....
Exactly my experience too. Installed my DV+ 2 weeks ago so the difference feeling is fresh in my memory.

·
Registered
676 Posts
So much more to this product, you should read through the threads on it.