Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
754 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My annual insurance renewal should be coming in the mail in the next couple weeks for both my Jeep Wrangler and Fiat Spider.

I normally get full insurance coverage on both vehicles for my own peace of mind. I’ve been working from home for the past three years, so that hasn’t really changed. However, traffic is very light these days, and with real pressure to save money, and with both vehicles now in lockdown most of the time, I think I may want to revisit my insurance policy.

It seems we will be under some degree of restriction of movement for 6 to 9 months. Are you guys planning to reduce your insurance coverage?

·
Premium Member
849 Posts
Can't say what you guys do there but I can get you thinking, I hope.....How Precious are your vehicles ? I know, I know...daft question, so...INSURE THEM as you will find that your house insurance does not cover them and should....fire, theft, damage occur.............You could spread the cost by direct debit, extra cost but easier on the pocket. I have all three of our cars due soon, won't think twice..... You could ask insurer for advice as to basic third party cover only price and if you can upgrade once allowed out to play, but that is still likely to cost....Cheers

·
Premium Member
2018 124 Spider Abarth Custom
1,443 Posts
Mine hasn't moved in 6 months and probably not for many more. Still fully covered sitting on stands in the garage.

The only time I have ever suspended coverage was during Desert Shield/Storm in 90-91. I put my car in a storage locker, tamper seal applied, notarized documents proving it, and the bank allowed me to drop coverage completely until I got back from deployment. 60% savings in the locker vs insurance and it wasn't getting sand blasted sitting in a "secure" open lot on Ft. Bliss.

·
Registered
54 Posts