Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm an iOS developer in my day job and was thinking I'd write an app called "Sunday Drive" that lets you plan a drive with multiple way points. This is an app you'd use to find and plan fun drives. It is not an app for getting you from point A to point B as fast as possible. It would instead give you the route that is the "funnest" possible. Some possible features:

See most/least planned roads on routes
Roads rated by skill
Roads by sights (forest, desert, ocean drive)
Roads by landmarks/stops
Services
Great caffe/restaurants on a road/route
Routes by available time

What would you like to see in such an app?

·
Registered
727 Posts
I'd like to see a feature which routes old highways. Sometimes I see these old roads running parallel to modern highways and interstates. Some are architecturally rich with old defunct gas stations and houses. I suppose the trick is figuring out entry & exit points, as many have been chopped up over the years. It might be fun traversing 2-3 states on such roads.

·
Super Moderator
1,210 Posts

·
Registered
676 Posts
Would be great to have it "State Specific" where a day trip is possible within a day's time frame so one could access interesting roads with stop overs and return home in the same day.

·
Registered
1,043 Posts
Sunday "One-Tank" tours. Sounds like an excellent idea Mike! I don't agree with the State specific though. Here in the Chicago area, we've got to go into Wisconsin to find fun roads. I think dialing in the amount of round-trip miles is more appropriate, such as 300 miles or whatever you can do on one tank of gas.

·
Vendor
3,099 Posts