Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
934 Posts
I'm old enough to know what all that stuff is, although we never had SU carbs on Fiats or Alfas, that was a British car thing.

I'm glad you like it. You used the term "more consistent" that's a very good way to put it. As the stock valve opens and closes it doesn't always close consistently, the GFB is much more consistent. I forgot to point that out.

Greg
I added the GFB to my Lusso and find that boost seems to come on a little earlier and smoother. Does that make sense?

The only difficulty in the installation was that I had to remover the V1 intake tube because it is thicker than stock and made the GFB a tight fit. Once the GFB was on, the V1 intake tube went back on with only a little coaxing into the narrowed gap between the GFB and the turbo.

Reactions: NYProf

· Registered
934 Posts
Hey, at least you have an excuse in being a home wrench. I used to be an aircraft mechanic and had the idea of "never doing anything without instructions in hand, no matter how many times you've done it before" totally ingrained into my way of thinking. Or, at least I used to.
I couldn't wait to install mine as soon as I got it, so in the mean time, I watched the video and read the instructions. It makes it so much easier.

· Registered
934 Posts
I just received mine and am puzzled about the use of the spring resulting in a CEL. There was no mention of this anywhere else and it's going to be a PITA if this is a regular occurrence.
What experience have you others had?
Pete
No codes here. I followed the instructions and never had an issue. Checked for codes yesterday and had none.

· Registered
934 Posts
I got the 2 big clamps that came with the V1 that go at both ends. Do the other 2 connectors need clamps I don't know.
I can confirm that you don't need the two smaller clamps. I installed it with them, then removed them after EC confirmed that they are not needed, and it looks better without them.