Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 3 week old Abarth Spider AT in Sydney, Australia. The car was going well. Had minor issues and I am taking the car back to the dealership for it. The current issue is with its transmission. The car just shifts to a higher gear very quickly as soon as I release the gas paddle. upon putting my foot back on the gas paddle, there is no throttle response for a while. Then after pressing it a bit further down, it downshifts and accelerates. This makes driving quite annoying to be honest.

·
Registered
662 Posts
Your problem may be related to turbo lag, or turbo lag is compounding a transmission problem.

If you haven't already, I would install a Go Fast Bits DV+ diverter valve. It allows the engine to hold a little boost between shifts. It worked wonders in my manual Abarth and in my wife's 500l. Smooths the shifts right out.

·
Registered
1,318 Posts
I'm no mechanic but I'd agree with steve6225. The turbo on this car wakes up around 22-2300rpm or so, and if revs are falling below that, the turbo boost may be falling off quickly, then recovering as you have noted, when pushing the gas pedal hard causing a downshift, which causes an increase in RPM, which is kicking in the turbo and bring up its boost function.

I second the installation of the GFB DV+ diverter valve. It is a simple installation and helps to slow down that turbo boost loss during shifts.

Here it is at the Eurocompulsion website, including a short video showing some installation notes.
https://shopeurocompulsion.net/products/go-fast-bits-dv?variant=28533426753

It is available from other sources depending on your global location, or EC could send it to you. And there is plenty of talk about it on this site.