Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my Abarth for a week now and although I've been driving manual since 1987 I find the extra torque at low revs we get from the sport button quite useful in delivering a smoother acceleration from stop - ironically - this is most noticeable at low speeds like when cruising on the lakeside at 34kph.

So I tend to always turn on sport mode as soon as the cold engine lamp shuts off, which makes me wonder, what's the point of having the "regular" mode then?

Is there a long term implication?

Am I damaging the engine by ALWAYS having sport mode on?

To be fair I'm still amazed at the car. All that fun for 8l/100km consumption on average is incredible!

PS: to whoever posted the photo of the 12V accessory plug FIAT hid in the most improbable location, thank you. I don't need it but I've been looking for it because that's the plug where we'd connect the compressor that comes with the flat tyre kit...

·
Administrator
1,933 Posts
The only significant implication I can see is more driving enjoyment.

Some people may find the throttle mapping of the sport mode to be too aggressive and difficult to drive comfortably.

·
Registered
26 Posts
I've had my Abarth for a week now and although I've been driving manual since 1987 I find the extra torque at low revs we get from the sport button quite useful in delivering a smoother acceleration from stop - ironically - this is most noticeable at low speeds like when cruising on the lakeside at 34kph.

So I tend to always turn on sport mode as soon as the cold engine lamp shuts off, which makes me wonder, what's the point of having the "regular" mode then?

Is there a long term implication?

Am I damaging the engine by ALWAYS having sport mode on?

To be fair I'm still amazed at the car. All that fun for 8l/100km consumption on average is incredible!