Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just had the dealer do my first oil change yesterday. When I got it back, the average mpg dropped to 8 and had an extra mile on the car. I've worked as a tech at dealerships before, so I know how it is, but I'm still unhappy about someone else taking a romp in my car without permission. I can only assume the injectors would have to have been at 100% duty cycle to get that low on a 1.4 engine. With the clutch, brakes, and tires not covered under warranty, it's certainly something to be concerned about.

I've searched around, and although I'm somewhat new to owning an OBDII car, I've been looking for a way to set a limit somewhere in the car so this doesnt happen again. I'm guessing my only options are a piggyback/standalone EMS. Ideas?

Also hoping 5127394PC is the correct oil

·
Registered
956 Posts
Just had the dealer do my first oil change yesterday. When I got it back, the average mpg dropped to 8 and had an extra mile on the car. I've worked as a tech at dealerships before, so I know how it is, but I'm still unhappy about someone else taking a romp in my car without permission. I can only assume the injectors would have to have been at 100% duty cycle to get that low on a 1.4 engine. With the clutch, brakes, and tires not covered under warranty, it's certainly something to be concerned about.

I've searched around, and although I'm somewhat new to owning an OBDII car, I've been looking for a way to set a limit somewhere in the car so this doesnt happen again. I'm guessing my only options are a piggyback/standalone EMS. Ideas?

Also hoping 5127394PC is the correct oil
The reason for the low mpg is most likely because they had it idling for quite a while. A spirited joy ride is not out of the question, but much less likely to give you 8 mpg.

·
Registered
3,958 Posts