Fiat 124 Spider Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So... I ordered a 2018... But I couldn't wait! On Tuesday I picked up my Rosso Lusso / Saddle / MT in Houston. I live in Birmingham AL and my local dealer, while very nice, was straight MSRP. I've been obsessing about this car for two months and on Saturday found one on a lot in Houston that was almost exactly what I want (except no Comfort/Safety). And it was discounted. And they don't have a "mandatory $500 Doc fee" in Texas. So I was thinking: Do I really want to pay $3500 more for the Safety and Comfort package AND wait until the fall to get it? Nope. Called them up, did the deal over the phone and flew down to get the car. Fortunately, I have relatives in Houston so I had a free place to stay.

So, I picked the car up with 7 miles on the OD!! That's exactly the way I like to buy new cars. Of course it was pouring rain, which is not the way I like to buy new cars. But the car was going to get rained on sooner or later anyway...

The drive home to Birmingham is about 700 miles and takes about 12 hours with stops. Here's my observations after spending ALOT of time in the cockpit:

Wow! My expectations were pretty high for this car. They were easily surpassed! I have made the Houston-Birmingham drive many times. I have never felt as good after that drive as I did yesterday. Even though it is small, I can honestly say this is the most comfortable car I have ever owned. It's like they used me for the mold when the built it.